If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

Black Ops 4 Blackout max level is 80 and there's no prestige

Levelling up in Call of Duty: Black Ops 4's battle royale mode, Blackout, is a bit different to multiplayer.

Blackout has a level progression similar to what you find in regular multiplayer, but there are a few key differences. For one, you score points by getting kills and surviving long in Blackout matches.

There are 80 levels to chase, but there's no prestige. In other words, you won't be able to reset your rank and start over once you get there, at least for the time being.

Another major difference between multiplayer and Blackout ranks is the merit system. As we explain in our merits and echelons guide, these are awarded for completing certain challenges. But you also earn merits for kills, and depending on your match placement.

Ranks are referred to as Echelons in Blackout, and they're split into five tiers. Each tier will update your title while you're within its levels. For example, Ranger is what you'll get between one and 19. Upon hitting 20 it'll change to Frogman and again when you reach 40, 61, and 80.

The system will take you a bit of time to wrap your head around because it may feel like you're not being rewarded in the same way you'd be in multiplayer. Blackout plays differently so it probably didn't make sense to adopt the same 'points for everything' approach.

You can certainly up the rate at which you earn merits considerably if you decide to go for challenges.

For more on Blackout, check out these handy beginners tips. For everything else, check out our Black Ops 4 guide.

More Guides

Latest Articles

VG247 logo

Buy our t-shirts, yeah

They're far more stylish than your average video game website tat.

VG247 Merch