If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

Mask of Mayhem trailer is probably the first Borderlands 3 teaser

Gearbox is officially teasing a new Borderlands game.

Borderlands series developer Gearbox has released a new teaser trailer titled Mask of Mayhem. Though it doesn't drop the Borderlands 3 name outright like we've been hoping, it features plenty of characters from earlier Borderlands games.

Characters such as Sir Hammerlock, Ellie, Claptrap and many others are all shown. The trailer also highlights at least three new characters, which could tie into the story of the new game. All of them combine to make up the eponymous Mask of Mayhem, which we see when the camera zooms all the way out near the end.

Even if it doesn't explicitly say Borderlands 3, the trailer does point to the official Borderlands website. We're definitely getting a Borderlands game, which Gearbox may not end up calling Borderlands 3.

After plenty of teasers, all will finally be revealed at the Gearbox PAX East panel. The panel will be livestreamed, and it takes place tomorrow, March 28 at 11am PT, 2pm ET, 6pm UK.

As always, we'll be bringing you all the news as it happens.

More News

Latest Articles

VG247 logo

Buy our t-shirts, yeah

They're far more stylish than your average video game website tat.

VG247 Merch